Dear Members and Internal Audit Professionals,


I hope you and your families are keeping safe.

I would like to thank you all for reposing your faith in me to serve as the President of this august body The IIA India, Bombay Chapter for the term 2021-22.

Our immediate Past Presidents (in no specific order) Akhilesh Thakur, Haresh Dua, Manoj Agarwal, Burzin Dubash, Adithya Bhat, Purav Gala and Sunil Gaitonde have all contributed immensely to the betterment of the Chapter. No appreciation would be complete if we do not recognize the yeomen services rendered by the stalwarts of the profession Mr. Nagesh Pinge, Mr. Satish Shenoy, Mr. Anil Bhandari, Mr. S Bhaskar, Mr. Deepjee Singhal, Mr. Porus Doctor and Mr. Neville Dumasia who have raised the bar so high. For me, these are institutions! Their dedication and valuable support will always be appreciated by the Bombay Chapter and I only hope that they continue to shower their blessings on all of us. I solicit support from all you members to raise it even further in these challenging times.

The year gone by, despite the challenges, was a great year for The IIA India, Bombay Chapter, both, in terms of memberships and number of training programs, including the first time ever Annual Banking Conclave. The IIA India also won the IIA GLOBAL Building Awareness Championship Award 2021 and launched the CIA Challenge Exam for eligible candidates to receive the coveted CIA Certification by appearing for one exam instead of three.

I would also like to acknowledge fellow Board of Governors (“BOG”), sponsors, speakers, members, volunteers, and our staff who supported and will continue their patronage towards The IIA Bombay Chapter and its activities. You all play an important role in making The IIA Bombay Chapter the most active and vibrant of all chapters!

Our strategic priorities for 2021-22

I will be Chairing the first meeting of The IIA Bombay Chapter Governors on July 31, 2021. I am already witnessing a lot of enthusiasm from the BOG – including the new Board members. This enthusiasm is infectious, and I hope this continues throughout the year ahead. A warm welcome to the new BOG in this journey where we "Collaborate to Grow". Together let us take the challenges of COVID-19 and the many opportunities it offers to bring flexibility in learning and upskilling ourselves to enhance services to stakeholders for another successful year!

Today, we are about a 1100-member Chapter, the largest Chapter of the six IIA India Chapters and wish to keep growing. This is possible if we succeed in creating an awareness about the IIA organization, providing value added services to those interested in the profession of internal audit and to those who are passionate about internal audit.

The IIA Bombay Chapter’s call for BOG and volunteers generated tremendous interest. The independent Nomination Committee has put in considerable time and efforts to select the BOG and serve our Chapter.

Please join me in welcoming Ashish Shah (Senior Director – Internal Audit @ TIAA), Chetan Thakkar (General Manager @ JSW Steel Group), Shivani Sanwal (Director @ KPMG), Jitendra Agavane (Partner in JBSA & Associates) and Cyrus Adajania (Associate Director @ TIAA) as Governors on the Board in place of the retiring members Mr. Anil Bhandari, Mr. Haresh Dua and Mr. Amitava Ghosh. We will continue to have support from V Swaminathan, Nehal Shah, K V Mukundan, Sandeep Gupta, Dharmesh Jadhav, Akhilesh Thakur, Adithya Bhat, Burzin Dubash, Manoj Agarwal, Nikhil Kenjale, Nilesh Likhite and Manish Solanki as the BOG.

I take this opportunity also to apprise you of the new managing committee for 2021-22 as well as the member services-committees formed. I look forward to enhanced collaboration between the Board members and the various internal Committees as we “Collaborate to Grow”.

Managing Committee:

President: Percy Amalsadiwalla

Senior Vice President: V Swaminathan

Vice President: Nehal Shah

Secretary: K V Mukundan

Joint Secretary: Dharmesh Jadhav

Treasurer: Sandeep Gupta

Joint Treasurer: Jitendra Agavane

Sub committees:

  • Social Media Committee: Ashish Shah (Chair), Smriti Parekh, Shivani Sanwal, Cyrus Adajania and Ekta Moorjani

  • Conference & Events Committee: Burzin Dubash (Chair), Adithya Bhat, V Swaminathan, Sandeep Gupta, Niraj Salot, Anil Ajmera and Neha Vijayvargiya

  • Training & Webinar Committee: Jitendra Agavane (Chair), Chetan Thakkar, Rachana Daftary, Dharmesh Jadhav, Kalpesh Mody, Venu Madhav Kalluru

  • Membership Committee: Akhilesh Thakur (Chair), Chetan Thakkar, Khozema Tambawala, Deepak Khatija, Shivani Sanwal

  • Publications Committee: Manoj Agarwal (Chair), Venu Madhav Kalluru, Manish Solanki, Nikhil Kenjale and Pooja Dharewa

  • Advocacy: Chetan Thakkar (Chair), Ashish Shah, Balu Narayan, Bikash Shaw

  • Women’s Forum: Nehal Shah (Chair), Smriti Parekh, Rachana Daftary, Ekta Moorjani, Pooja Dharewa, Mansi Shah and Neha Vijayvargiya

Lastly, as we “Collaborate to Grow”, your suggestions / volunteering is vital to the success of this Chapter and therefore I urge you all to reach out to the BOG for any offerings you may have in this regard.

Signing off until our next communication!

Yours Sincerely,

Percy Amalsadiwalla
President – 2021-22
The IIA India, Bombay Chapter

➤ The Institute of Internal Auditor’s Bombay Chapter Leadership 2021 - 22. Click Here to view the profile.

Welcome to IIA Bombay

The Institute of Internal Auditors, India (IIA, India) is affiliated to The Institute of Internal Auditors Inc., USA, a worldwide body founded in 1941 by a small group of dedicated internal auditors. Through our affiliation, our members are able to share in collective wisdom of more than 170,000 members in over 165 countries and territories.

IIA India is a non-profit professional organisation dedicated to the advancement and development of the internal audit profession in India.

In India, Chapters were formed since 1954 successively at Bombay, Bangalore, Delhi, Kolkatta and Chennai, culminating in recognition of IIA India, the national Institute in 1980. The activities of the five Chapters in India are co-ordinated by IIA India. The All-India member base is about 2000.

The Bombay Chapter of The Institute of Internal Auditors, India is one of the most active & vibrant chapters of IIA India. With a member base of about 1100, it is also one of the largest chapters.

PS: Join us for the Master Series on “Enterprise-Wide Risk Management” charting a 3 days interactive course (4 case studies from various Industries) by Mr. Adithya Bhat on August 21, 28th & Sept 04th, 2021.

Registration link:

See the event details here: